Russian motorcycle news
Brands Persons Miscellaneous

Leonov wins 1st Cup of Two States round

Yakhnich Motorsport rider Vladimir Leonov, #65, won the first round of the Cup of Two States ("Coppa Dei Due Paesi") in San Marino.

Riding his Yamaha YZF R6 motorbike, Leonov completed the 11 laps of the race at 19'13. Andrea Agnelli, #66, from Clinical della Moto, who was incidentally riding an R6 as well, finished second, followed by yet another Italian on a Yamaha R6, Stefano Togni, #5. Sunday's three winners turned out to be almost the same as the leaders in Saturday's qualifying race.

At a pre-race news conference, Vladimir Leonov shared what it was like to take part in a world motorbike series and mentioned that although he had not had extensive practice on the Misano racetrack, the circuit did not strike him as extremely difficult.

As for other Russians taking part in the Cup of Two States, Sergey Vlasov, #8, representing Yakhnich Motorsport, came in fifth (+15.106).
Sergey Karapukhin, #5 from RWT Racing, finished in 10th position on his Yamaha YZF R6 (+27.426).
Yakhnich Motorsport's Maxim Kiselyov, #17, took 15th place on his R6 (+1'03/286).
His teammate Natalya Lyubimova, riding another R6 under #57, came in 18th (+1'16.173).
Prosport's Sergey Orlov, #2, took 19th place (+1'16.572).
Yevgeny Sokolovsky, representing Vector Racing as #48, finished 21st on his Honda CBR 600RR (+1'40.030).
Motosport's Vitaly Karpov, #55, came in 22nd (+1'56.784).
Lenar Mansurov from Alga Team, #16, also finished in 22nd place, riding an R6.
Yevgeny Kleandrov from Forspeed Honda, #7, finished 24th after getting a false start penalty of 20 seconds.
Sergey Galkin from Alga Team, #3, on his Kawasaki ZX-6R, came in 25th.

Although 29 riders started the race, only 25 of them actually finished. Russian rider Nadezhda Yakhnich from the Yakhnich Motorsport team was one of the four riders who fell out of the race.

For all the fans who missed the first race of the Cup of Two States, it will be rebroadcast at 0:05 a.m. on Rossiya-2 today.

The Misano racetrack is the traditional host of the San Marino Grand Prix. It spans 4,180 meters long and 12 meters wide, with 16 turns, including 10 right ones and 6 left ones. Its longest straight measures 565 meters. Though it dates back to 1969, it was upgraded in 2007.

Add your comment

Name: Code:
Rambler's Top100